Anyone Using ACES II Diesel Additive

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by lawnjockey51, Jan 3, 2006.

1. lawnjockey51

lawnjockey51 LawnSite Member

I read an artilce in TURF a while back about new Fuel & Oil additives called ACES II & ACES III. I spoke with one of the co-owners of the company at length this morning and was wondering if anyone here is using their products.

Apparently the 2006 Clean Air rules will be forcing fuel companies to reduce the amount of sulpher in the deisel fuel. This is supposed to cause more heat and friction which is not a good thing for a diesel engine.

I am NOT a mechanic by any means, I just want to know if anyone has heard of these products and has tried, or is using them on a regular basis.

2. egbaker

egbaker LawnSite Member
    from NJ

I am sorry I haven't used any of the ACES products but I have used a good diesel fuel conditioner and I feel it is usually worth it.
    I used Amsoil Fuel conditioner in a Datsun Maxima diesel I owned from 1984 to 1998. I sold it with 135,000 miles on it. I used about 4 oz of the conditioner with nearly every fillup (10 gal). I never had to touch the fuel system or the injectors and it never smoked, and never burned oil.
    I had several dealers say to me that many of these Maxima Diesels need to have the injectors cleaned at around 60k.
    I feel the additive which was designed to clean the injectors among other things made the difference. The car ran flawlessly and got around 35 mpg.
    I suggest you try to find a good reputable brand conditioner or you can use the ACES if you can get some unbiased evaluations from the net or diesel dealers.

3. lawnjockey51

Thanks. That is what I am looking for now, but it doesn't appear to be a hot seller yet. Anyone else?

4. Likestomow

Likestomow LawnSite Senior Member

I tried adding fingernail polish remover and like it.

5. lawnjockey51

"I tried adding fingernail polish remover and like it."