1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Anything better than Pro Roundup

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Lawnworks, Oct 6, 2005.

1. Lawnworks

Lawnworks LawnSite Fanatic
    from usa

I have been using granular Pro-Roundup for a couple of years, and I am becoming less satisfied. It seems lately that it is not killing weeds as well as the past, and the stuff cost $100 per gallon of concentrate. Does anybody know of anything a little more effective and cheaper?
  2. rshofcols

rshofcols LawnSite Member
    from ohio

try razor pro
  3. teeca

teeca LawnSite Bronze Member

i 2nd the razor pro.. if price isn't a concern and you want a FAST burn down, use reward, cost $150 gal + surfactant, but it works great! vegitation will brown and die with-in a day... i use it for aquatic weeds and have used it in landscapes also.
  4. ArizPestWeed

ArizPestWeed LawnSite Bronze Member

Use just " Razor" , and add your own quality surfactant .
    It can be better than anything out there .
    Also add 24d
  5. bluemoon7

bluemoon7 LawnSite Member

The best and most cost effective combo we have found is Vegemec (a Gordon's product) + Round Pro dry. Vegemec has very fast burndown (less than 24 hrs in the right weather), but does not do well on grassy weeds.. so we add 3 oz of Round Up Pro dry (to a 4 gal backpack) and that gets the grass. Vegemec is about $110 a case(5 gallons), and the Round-up is about $90 for 6.8 lbs... and yes I am licensed and certified.
  6. griffy77

griffy77 LawnSite Member

I have tried several weed killers and so far i have found that Prosecuter Pro from Lesco does the trick. Within 24 hours the weeds are dead!! You can almost watch them die.
  7. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic