Apartments appraisal

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by comrad, Feb 13, 2007.

1. comrad

comrad LawnSite Member
    from Sac

I received a phone call from an apartment owner who wants me to do complete lawn care 2 times a month. This is my first time working with apartments, is there anything I should take into account when appraising the apartments? Any tips? Any contracts I should sign with the customer?

Thanks

2. Woody82986

Woody82986 LawnSite Silver Member
    from DFW, TX

My guess is that the apartment owners or the manager is a tightwad if they only want service twice a month. Don't bother. And if you do bother, make sure you get ready for a ton of trash and dog crap...

3. Flow Control

Flow Control LawnSite Bronze Member

4. GreenN'Clean

GreenN'Clean LawnSite Bronze Member

I would charge him on the high side, make it worth your time so you make money. The last thing you want is doing a job that takes you longer then you expected and you wind up loosing money. Charge high incase you run into that problem.

5. jsf343

jsf343 LawnSite Bronze Member

Woody is right, I would stay away from it as well. Funny thing about people who want service every other week is they expect it to be perfect but do not want to pay "perfect prices" in other words they don't care that you will have to stay double the time to make it look good, they are usually cheapskates. If you do take it on make sure you price it higher then you normally would.

6. comrad

comrad LawnSite Member
    from Sac

Yeah, I don't like doing service every other week as it messed up my schedule and makes it harder every time I come, I don't like spending a whole lot of time on one property. We will see, I will price it, if they agree, I will try it out...

Thanks for the advice!

7. Robert S

Robert S LawnSite Member
    from tx