Approximate yearly income?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by DirtRider, Oct 10, 2005.

1. DirtRider

DirtRider LawnSite Member

I have some experience working in the field with a company many years ago. I also do a very small amount of side work now. Is there a formula that will give me a rough estimate of what I can expect to earn by, say, each account?Then I can then just multiply by the amount of accounts I would need to make what I require? I understand this would be a VERY rough estimate.

I am checking into an insurance estimate right now. I have a truck and trailer, a 21, backpack, and a weed eater. I know this would get me started, but I will need much more equipment down the road. My plan would be to buy as much of the equipment now with my current job before I made the plunge. I am thinking about starting this on the side until I had a substantial amount of business and then dropping my day job.

I am growing very tired of corporate America :angry: I know this venture would be anything but easy, but I can handle the manual work, but need to get out of what I am currently doing for a living. I would like to hear from some Cali guys to get an apples to apples idea but there does not appear to be many on this board?? Thanks in advance guys! I will have more questions down the road.

2. GreenUtah

GreenUtah LawnSite Senior Member
    from SLC, UT

Dirt,
    There is no possible way to peg any set price to any number of lawns to make even a ballpark estimate on final #'s. Every single lawn is different and how much you make per lawn will depend on how far it was from your last stop, the time it takes with a variety of environmental factors and the equipment you have available when you do the job, your or your employees speed and skill, trash and about a hundred other variables, for each property. You can have a profit goal that sets your pricing, but that's about as close as you're going to get.

3. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member