1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Are customers all fair game?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by OwenS, Jul 30, 2003.

1. OwenS

OwenS LawnSite Member
    from Montana

I'm fairly new to mowing full time, and one of my competitors is selling his mowing rigs on ebay. We mow in the same areas so I know a lot of his houses and I want to bid his accounts Do you guys think its ethical to move in on this guys customers before he sells his company? Owen
  2. Scag48

Scag48 LawnSite Fanatic

3. Do unto other as you'd have done to yourself. As far as what they do unto to you? Well that's another subject ...

If you're going to make a move on insider-information, even though it's not illegal, it's definitely not honorable. However, if it is public knowledge that he's getting out of the business then it may not be as sleazy. But those accounts may be the most valuable thing he is selling, so if you do something to reduce that value, it wouldn't be too cool.

I'm all for hustling up work, but if you start stepping on other people's turf, you're setting yourself up for a fall. Aside from a LCO dropping the ball, just how loyal do you think these newly-hawked customers would be to you? I try to avoid price-shopper customers.
  4. Rustic Goat

Rustic Goat LawnSite Bronze Member

applause, applause,
    Bluesteel, just have to say, that's the best post I've ever read of yours, the whole thing. Just had to say that, good going.

OwenS, ever thought about approaching this other LCO to find out what his whole story is? Is he selling equipment only, or accounts too? Selling equipment to upgrade??
    I'd advise you find out before you ASSume too much.:)
  5. awm

awm LawnSite Gold Member

well brother,i hate to say it but thats how the free enterprise system works....