auctions ?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Doc_77, Mar 26, 2005.

1. Doc_77

Doc_77 LawnSite Member
    from IL

there is a auction coming up this week and i was thinking of taking a look .
    im sure alot of people here have been to them . i just wanted to ask ... is all the equipment crap at these things or do they sell some equipment that is actually worth buying ?

im not big on buying any thing used . im not a mechanic i don't know how to fix every thing on a lawn mower.
    im a little skeptical about buying from one of these but if i can get some good equipment for cheap , why not ?

any way i just wanted to hear what yall had to say about them . :)

2. accuratelawn

accuratelawn LawnSite Senior Member

I went to my first auction this week. It was a small auction. Four hand held items. They were in good condition. Sold for about 40% of retail. Also a 52 Super Z that had a few problems. Sold for 4600. High in my opintion.

None turf productions sold for low prices.

Go to the auction, check out the items you are interested and set a limit on how high you will go. I did not purchase anything, but it was fun to watch.

3. Lawn-Scapes

Lawn-Scapes LawnSite Silver Member

I went to my first auction too.. last week. The best thing about it was watching the folks bid against each other for junk. I guess the saying is true.. "one man's junk is another man's treasure."

There were a few select pieces that were nice.. but guess what? That's where the largest crowd was hanging.. waiting for the auctioeer to come around.

This was my experience as far as turf equipment went.

There were tools there too and there was some good deals to be had for those. I won a 29 piece DeWalt drill bit set for $15.. retails for $60 :)

4. Doc_77

Doc_77 LawnSite Member
    from IL

thx guy's i guess i will check it out... this seems to be a fairly large auction. trucks, trailer's , snow plows and at least 60 - 70 lawn mowers.