Backcharging General contractors

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by goldenone, Dec 7, 2006.

1. goldenone

goldenone LawnSite Member

Doing commercial landscaping and irrigation work seems to be more than I thought it would be.

The GC im working for keeps trying to dump more and more work on me.
    I keep telling him in not in my contract to do this.

The dirt work guys quit and he says it up to me to do the work. (GUYS DRIVING ME NUTS):hammerhead::cry: :cry: :cry:
    He insist that it's in my contract which i have confront him to point it out to me he can't.

I know that if I start doing the work the GC and architects will say I have to do it at no extra cost to contract.

I'm new to the GC games and was wondering if any one has dealt with this before and how can I backsharge the GC in this matter.

If there is someone that has any info. in the matter your advise would be well respected.:cool2:

2. GreenN'Clean

GreenN'Clean LawnSite Bronze Member

Well if the other work isn't in your contract then write one up for the extra work and have the guy sign it before you do any of the extra work if he refuses then don't do the extra work. There must be a reason the dirt guy quit, maybe the GC wasn't paying him to do the work

3. GreenN'Clean

GreenN'Clean LawnSite Bronze Member

If you do the extras for free this time then the GC will always expect it for free. Get a contract and make him pay for the extra work. Don't let him get over on you

4. goldenone

goldenone LawnSite Member

I have refused to do the work and It's really starting to back me up (1 month).
    when I ask about adding $$$$ to the contract he will change subject or say it is in my contract.

Why did I get into this business? (for the long hours or low pay, less sleep)

5. Az Gardener

Az Gardener LawnSite Gold Member