Backflow preventor suggestions

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by silvercvic, Oct 25, 2006.

1. silvercvic

silvercvic LawnSite Member

I am totally new to all this and I am trying to learn as much of this as possible before I spent $$ on trial and error.

I have read irrigationtutorials.com over and over and picked up a book on sprinkler systems.

I have completed dimensions and approximation of where I want to water and after checking with local code, my next step is to select a backflow preventor. I have noticed most installs on this forum uses a vacuum breaker (PVB), but since my highest sprinkler head sits in a retaining wall (sits pretty high off the ground), I have chosen to use either a Reduced Pressure Backflow Preventer or a double check backflow preventor since elevation of the BP would not be an issue.

Now which would be preferred and cost-effective (R.P. unit -or- Double check)? My county requires that it be ASSI code 1013 or 1020.
    I have researched these brands: Febco 860/860U and Wilkins 975XL
    Does anyone have any other suggestions? Brands/model
    I was also wondering why Febco is cheaper to Wilkins by over $60

Does anyone suggestion going with a Double-Check Backflow preventer, if so why?

2. Dirty Water

Dirty Water LawnSite Fanatic

Doublechecks can be installed in a valvebox below grade. They don't have relief valves to stick open and are cheaper.

If your county allows them, go for it.

3. Kuma

Kuma LawnSite Member

The Double Check backflow preventer is not rated for irrigation applications according to the USC Cross-Connection Manual. A Reduced Pressure Zone backflow preventer or Pressure Vacuum Breaker are rated for irrigation applications.

4. Dirty Water

Not every county goes by the USC manual, my area for example, requires doublechecks and will fail you if you install a PVB.