Bad Lighting... this could be funny!

Discussion in 'Landscape Lighting' started by Mike & Lucia, Feb 23, 2007.

1. Mike & Lucia

Mike & Lucia LawnSite Member

This could be fun, and funny. My marketing material needs some examples of bad lighting, or common mistakes. Especially those made by homeowners and inexperienced contractors. I have my own ideas, but thought maybe some of you could share examples of things you come across.

Example: a run of pathlights in a straight row where the first is too bright and the last is way too dim because of improper wiring.

I've got some great pictures in my material of glare bombs.

Anybody care to help out? Thanks.

Mike

2. Pro-Scapes

Pro-Scapes LawnSite Platinum Member

lets see... in my short career as a lighting technician I have seen some great ones. I think alot of this has to do with being from Mississippi and so many "country folk" using good ol methods.

Duct tape instead of wire nuts or grease tubes.

As Mike said the good ol daisy chain (just proposed to correct this at the local hospital due to lights being dim)

Speaker wire in place of lv cable to extend the leads of a light (same job with duct tape) ((maybe the installer robbed this from his vehical???))

1 light working out of 10 in a runway landing strip lighting job.

Plastic malibu lights attached to trees with electricians staples

Extension cords run half way around a house for power.

Numerous solar "lights" PS if I get more light output out of my cell phone you need new lighting.

Countless unburied wires.

Im sure the list goes on and on for guys that have been doing this a long time.

Notes on these jobs. The speaker wire and duct tape job was reinstalled with new cast lighting. The plastic malibus stapled to a tree was converted to a 10k cast install. The extension cord and 1 light out of 10 working job is a cheap skate doc who patches his lights up weekly and is across the street from one of our nice cast jobs.

3. jlouki01