bad service

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by 2BladeRunners, Nov 9, 2003.

1. 2BladeRunners

2BladeRunners LawnSite Member

I'm a new business owner, been mowing for others for 20 yrs. I took one of my chansaws to a Stihl Authorized service center to have the carb rebuilt. This was not my regular service center, rather one that was close at the time. They called a week later and I paid for the repairs at the front desk. When I pulled around back to the dock they couldn't find my say. They took my cell number and said they would call me that day. Four days later I called inquiring about my saw and was told one of their service techs had died (the same day I went to pick up the unit) in an auto accident. They had been closed for 2 days due to funeral etc. He said he would call me the next day. 2 days later I stop in as I was not called. They still can't find the saw and now I need to talk to the owner who is not there. I stop back in the next day and talk to the owner. He's not apologetic at all, in fact complains to me about the fact he may have to go through his insurance to cover the loss. Told me it would take 30 days to get paid by insurance and he would call me later. I stopped in a week later and now the owner is on vacation for 2 weeks. The counter guy said they have a couple used saws they'll clean one up and give it to me as a replacement. This is sounding like a bunch of crap to me. I don't want to take advantage of them but I feel they owe me a new like or current model saw. Anyone experience anything like this before?

2. locutus

locutus LawnSite Bronze Member
    from NC

First, call Stihl and get them involved. I'm sure they dont want any negative publicity surrounding their "authorized" service.

Second, sue them for anything the laws in your state will allow. In most cases like this, simply filing suit is enough to get their attention.

Third, get nasty. your choice how on this one.