Bag/Mulch/Discharge VS Mow Speed

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by boo, Jul 10, 2004.

1. boo

boo LawnSite Member

I'm in the process (somewhat agonizing) of selecting a mower for my new ~1 acre and I'm looking for guidance on how to have the mower set up on purchase. I'd like to balance fastest mowing speed with not wanting to have too much visible dead grass after mowing.

I'm sure I'm leaving out info necessary for you to give guidance, but since I'm a bit of a newbie I'll wait for replies to fill in the blanks

Any recommendations?

Thanks in advance.

2. mowhigh

mowhigh LawnSite Member
    from Dallas

Don't bag; it's a waste of time and needlessly removes nutrients from your turf. A good mulching kit will not leave unsightly clippings on the surface, but requires that you mow a little more frequently (every 5-6 days vs 7-10 if discharging). Mulching will also allow close mowing on either side, minimizing tire ruts/grass lay-down by alternating mowing direction. If the grass occassionally gets too tall, leave the mulching blades on, but remove the discharge cover. A good deck design will give adequate dispersal even when side discharging. Try it; you can always add a bagging attachment later, if you still want it. Try to demo before you buy. Good luck!

3. boo

boo LawnSite Member

Thanks mowhigh - I would love to avoid the wasted time and money if I can!

Generally speaking, are you able to mow faster while discharging versus mulching?

Also, it seems (I say it seems, because I can't say for sure) that some in this forum do as you suggest below - use mulching blades but discharge. If mowing 1/wk with this configuration, is it possible to get good enough dispersion to no have unsightly clippings (or is that too much to expect)?

I see some discussion around special mulching blades (Gator, Raptor, etc.), but I can't tell if they are using them with mulch kits or with discharge.

4. bobcat175

bobcat175 LawnSite Senior Member