1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by shaneth, Mar 8, 2005.

1. shaneth

shaneth LawnSite Member

I am a general manager for a medium sized facility maintenance company in Michigan. We currently handle about 1/2 million dollars in lawn maintenance per season and are continuing to grow. This past season has been difficult, however. One complaint that we've had is regarding excessive grass clippings on the lawns. We use discharge chutes and mulching decks and have tried every type of blade on the market except for those discs with the 4 replaceable blades (can't remember the name). We are constantly looking for ways to improve our services for our customers, while keeping our prices competitive and relavant. One option that we're considering is bagging clippings on certain properities, most specifically large condo developments. In doing so, we're concerned with how much time will be spent disposing of these clippings and how much we will be disposing of.

I know that many of you will have opinions on how we can provide better services, however I'd like to keep this thread specific to how much additional time bagging takes on say 1/3 or 1/4 acre lawn with a 9 cu. ft. containment system and how many times one would dump this or how full it would get. I'm not trying to come across as being prideful by not wanting general opinions on dealing with this issue, but we all have our opinions and myself and other managers travel throughout the country on business every year and see a lot of variation in the methods and types of environmental conditions in different areas of the country that would impact the way a company maintains properties. Thank you very much for your feedback on bagging, this helps a great deal.

2. nobagger

nobagger LawnSite Gold Member