balance between work load and more employees?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Ramairfreak98ss, May 29, 2007.

1. Ramairfreak98ss

Ramairfreak98ss LawnSite Silver Member

This for 2007 has become my largest fought issue.

This is my first year full time in this business, meaning i have no other "desk" job anymore and can dedicate 5+ days a week to this business 7am-7pm or more.

Last year, i had my brother help a day here and there. Now im looking to possibly hire him FULL time.

I just hired my first employee "part time" but for a few weeks, hes been working with me ~40hrs a week. Problem is, now that im a "boss" i need to be with him almost all the time to make sure hes doing the right things, and its causing me to not be nearly as productive as i once was alone.

Suddenly this week with Memorial day weekend, i dont really have any landscaping lined up for this whole comming week, until i cut lawns on Thrusday and Fridays so I really have no work for my "part timer" besides the two days.

When i do get these large landscaping jobs though 10-20k in work, im swamped for easily a week. I feel like i need 5 employees not just myself or 2-3 guys total.

How are the other companies managing their possible inconsistent workloads/jobs with more employees 2-5?

Do you pay them strait pay of 40hrs a week for a seasonal "salary" base or by the hour "part time" with no guarantee of hrs per week?

What is done in the winter/fall/spring when work is not as in demand as the summer months for landscaping and lawn care? I know i get leaf cleanups etc, but those last a few days and im done. Its not nearly keeping me busy all of October and November.

Last year on the east coast, i went out for snow twice! Thats it, there was nothing so how do you manage any extra employees with no winter work?:confused:

2. mkroher

mkroher LawnSite Senior Member

I'm 95% solo. In my cell phone... I have about 20 phone numbers of "illegal immigrants".