Basic Questions

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by TRINITY, May 28, 2001.

TRINITY LawnSite Member

Im new to the lawn stuff and I have some questions for you guys. I want to plow snow like I do now and get into lawns too and make a living. I know that you typically mow, trim, and blow at each visit. What about sidewalk edging, hedge trimming, mulching beds, and fall leaves? Do you try and sell these as seperate services or include all this in you price as one service? Do you put down fertilizer or some kind of weed control? If a lawn has weeds is there something you can put down to get rid of them? When all the weeds are gone is it bare where you would have re-seed?

As far as equipment is concerned it looks like the cheapest way to get started would be to get a gear drive walk behind. I was thinking about the Toro gear drive 15hp Kohler 44" deck or the Exmark Metro HP gear drive 15hp Kaw 48" deck. I was leaning more towards the Toro because of the amount of dealers around me. I don't even know who sells Exmark by me. I was quoted $3699.00 for the Toro does that seem high? With my goal being to get a 60" zero turn in the future would it make more sense to start with a 36" walk behind instead of the 44" or 48" so I could use for gated and tight property? I realize a 36" is pretty small for larger areas that I will encounter now but what do you think is better for the long run?

Sorry this is so long and im so ignorant on this stuff.

2. grassyfras

grassyfras LawnSite Bronze Member

ok this is what i do and i think most of the guys here do.