1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Basic tools to start

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by muddy00, Jan 15, 2004.

1. muddy00

muddy00 LawnSite Member
    from IL

What does everyone think is needed to start a residential mowing busineess and aprox cost of each?
  2. Zach76

Zach76 LawnSite Member

A lot of variables there buddy. Do you have a truck? trailer? any homeowner grade equip that you can start with? What size yards will you be doing? I'll offer you any help that I can as I am still new at this and am doing the purchasing routine right now myself, but I think any member of this site could spend hours if they tried to answer your question and cover all the bases.
  3. muddy00

muddy00 LawnSite Member
    from IL

I have a truck and trailer, so that's covered,

Most 1/4 -1/2 acre lot 's pretty flat around here. I'm thinking some sort of o-turn radius and some sort of push mower to get inside yards w/ fences. Trimmer is just basic I guess. What am I missing?
  4. crawdad

crawdad LawnSite Bronze Member

1) Mower- $100- $5,000
    2) Trimmer-$40- $400
    3) Blower $60-$500 or, use mower as blower
    4) Liability Insurance- (of course you planned to get it, you can put an eye out with that thing)talk to your local agent, or two..
    5) Business Liscence-they'll call you as soon as you advertise..
    6).......there's more, stick around.......
    Welcome to Lawnsite :D
  5. Zach76

Zach76 LawnSite Member