1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Battery powered trimmer

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by 829, May 12, 2008.

1. 829

829 LawnSite Member

I am not a professional lawn care guy, just a home owner tired of sucking up lawn trimmer smoke and going deaf.

I am looking for a reliable battery powered lawn trimmer, can anyone point me in the direction of a decent machine? They are all about the same price in the store ><$20 difference. I have not picked one up that is anymore heavy than my trusty old 2-cycle. I am mostly concerned with battery death.

Thank you in advance.
  2. jsw2008

jsw2008 LawnSite Senior Member

Some of my family members have Black and Decker cordless trimmers and as far as battery powered stuff goes I guess they're not too bad. They don't seem very powerful though. I think it may take you twice as long to trim your yard than with your gas powered one.
  3. 829

829 LawnSite Member

My mom has a B&D and only gets about 20 minutes.
  4. JTF40

JTF40 LawnSite Senior Member

Get some ear plugs and some Opti2 2-stroke oil - SMOKELESS.....:usflag:
  5. LarryF

LarryF LawnSite Bronze Member

Would you ID that monster please? And is it a 50/1 gas/oil mixture? I have not noticed either of those problems with mine, so that's why I ask. I was a little reluctant to fire mine up yesterday since it was Mother's day and didn't want to upset the neighbors. But heavy rain was being forecast (we sure got it today) and I wanted to get the the string trimming over with. No one seemed to even notice the noise.
  6. 829

829 LawnSite Member

Tried ear plugs, they hurt my ears when unrolling and I would still smell the combustion.

I do not have the model off the top of my head, but it is an 8 years old homelite.
  7. LarryF