Bed edger question.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by KenH, May 15, 2003.

1. KenH

KenH LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

I am ready to break down and buy a bed edger, possibly a Turfco. Do those who use them find they cut alot of sprinkler/electrical/dog fence lines??? Thanks

2. hnter

hnter LawnSite Member

i have no experience with a turfco product, but the brown bededger will cut essentially whatever it hits...by the time you realize you've hit something it is too late, so you'll need to know what is where before you start the machine...and having said that, being certain of 'what is where' is sometimes hit and miss...or, more likely, hit and fix...anyway, point is, be careful...

3. conepile

conepile LawnSite Member

HNTR is right. These cut through anything, and the first indication that you cut something like a wire is that it is cut and sticking up. Tree roots seem to be the only thing that slows it down. I rarely cut things I don't mean to cut anymore. It's a great tool and timesaver.

It is always important to know where things are buried for obvious reasons. I always hand-dig the edge when I'm near marked areas or near sprinkler heads (in case the swing pipe is shallow). Still, I have cut through homeowner-added invisible fence, swing pipe, unmarked sprinkler heads, and television cable (unmarked by the utility, AFTER they marked the property- they missed it).

Always use the "Call before you dig" underground utility marking services funded by the local utilities.

4. KenH

KenH LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

I think my biggest concern is the dog fence. It is never buried too deep.

5. Well after about 4 months of looking at what was available and not being able to make up my mind, i just picked up my new ez-trencher today.