1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Been in the biz for 5-6 years....

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Snapperman, Oct 12, 2004.

1. Snapperman

Snapperman LawnSite Member

I have been doing this kind of thing for 5-6 years and i am doing pretty good though i have another job as a plumbers assist, well i have got alot of equipment over the years and its still all running because i Maintinence my own equipment. Well im going to list my equipment and you guy can rate it, (keep in mind its not all commercial and its only a small business)

Riding Mowers:
    1962 Snapper comet w/ 30" deck kawasaki 12.5 hp commercial grade engine
    murray w/11hp i/c engine also 30" cut

Walk-behind Mowers:
    Murray 20" w/4hp briggs, multcher/bagger
    Craftsman 22" w/6.25hp briggs self propelled multcher/side discharge (I know sears crapsman)
    Mtd 22" 3.75hp briggs

Weed Eaters
    2 craftsman 17" curved shaft (soon to have stihl trimmers)

MClane 3hp briggs edger

Weedeater/poulan brand hand blower w/vac

Stihl MS 180 C

Because i run a small business i do residental work, so I use my utility vehicle to pull around my equipment

Hedge trimmers:
    Manual trimming shears (soon to have stihl hedge trimmers)

I think thats about all for now unless i missed something
  2. jajwrigh

jajwrigh LawnSite Bronze Member
    Male, from Martinsville, IN

I don't know why you want us to "rate" your equipment...shouldn't we rate your work? The equipment list resembles common home owner equipment that will get eaten alive in a regular commercial setting! Who cares what I think though? We are have to start somewhere and you should focus on running your business to the best of your ability. Good luck man!
  3. chevyman1

chevyman1 LawnSite Senior Member