Beginner's dilemma

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by zeratul, Nov 5, 2005.

1. zeratul

zeratul LawnSite Member
    from EGYPT

hi all
    I'm new in the equipment business and i'm in the market for both an excavator and a wheel loader and I have my eyes set on either a Cat, a Volvo or a Komatsu brand of the two machines due to dealer limitations in my country Egypt.

the loader is supposed to handle (2-3) cubic meters and the excavator about 1 cubic meter.

My main interest is something with high durability that can endure rough operating without going under.

Any help is appreciable :blush:
  2. Squizzy246B

Squizzy246B LawnSite Senior Member

For loaders I can speak from experience:

You have picked three good brands to look at. In your case (no not Case) I think dealer support and service will be the biggest issue. The Volvo loader is a whizzbang machine, fast, smooth and very very efficient. Its hard not to be impressed by the Volvo Loader. However a lot of the newer machines have way too much electronics for my liking.

The Komatsu is a capable loader and the Cat is generally regarded as being an industry benchmark. If I was going to buy a new machine and keep it long term then it would be a Cat. Cat also holds re-sale value best. Cat service is 2nd to none but thats not to say your local dealer is not an egghead. I have a problem with European machines and the price of spare parts. If its American or Japanese parts are reasonable but European parts can be exhorbitant....just ask a Volvo or Scania truck driver. Things may be different in Egypt.

For excavators I'll leave you to those more experienced with larger machines..Oh and look around at some other forums too.

There is also lots of general information here in these threads about different brands. Have a scroll through, lots of good reading.

Welcome to the Forum:D
  3. Tigerotor77W

Tigerotor77W LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Germany