1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Being to young to get the job

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Matt'slawncare, Jan 5, 2003.

1. Matt'slawncare

Matt'slawncare LawnSite Member

Well i am 18 years old right now and i have been mowing yards for about 8 years now and i plan on getting bigger. I have a problem though with getting bigger its that people keep telling me that all these big company's and townships arn't going to listen to a kid my age. Do any other young kids on here have this problem. So what should i do should i just try it or find someone older to go talk with them.

thanks for the help,
  2. Don't listen to those people.

Just do it and prove them wrong.
  3. Expert Lawns

Expert Lawns LawnSite Silver Member

References.....if they are near another lawn you service, give them the address, and let them drive by it, and even call the homeowners. but be sure to get their permission first. This has worked for me in the past. And be sure to speak well, speak at their level, not like an 18 year old (no offense). Let them know you are confident. People appreciate that.

Just a few things from my experiences. hope it helps.
  4. IBGreen

IBGreen LawnSite Senior Member

Don't listen to them, just have you're refrences available and be professional.
  5. KDJ

KDJ LawnSite Senior Member

6. mklawnman

mklawnman LawnSite Senior Member