Bermuda question....

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by nlminc, Mar 18, 2003.

1. nlminc

nlminc LawnSite Bronze Member
    from GA

I'm new to the South (and Bermuda grass). I'm looking into buying a Walker soon. I have heard a few different theories on what and how to maintain Bermuda. Is the Walker rider the way to go....do you need a dedicated bagger for this turf? Can you get away with mulching most of the time or letting the clippings fly? How well does the Walker 42" mulching deck work?

thanks

2. The Plant Poet

The Plant Poet LawnSite Member
    from Georgia

The walker mower with it's superb deck design is definately the way to go on bermuda. It does an excellent job cleaning off the dormant grass in the spring which is very important and it reduces scalping in the summer. Letting the clippings fly will make you look like a rooky and get paid like a rooky. bermuda gets so thick the clippings will remain on top of the grass for days. I'm trying the mulching deck for the first time. I've seen them in action though. Heavy clippings have to be blown so they fall through the grass but it doesn't take long.

3. George777

George777 LawnSite Senior Member
    from Alabama

Bermuda likes to be maintained short. I've got a Bunton with bagging sys and love it. It wont be long and bermuda is going to get crazy. This Spring is going to be wild. the turf is greening up now and be ready to hold on to your mower. the growth you will see in Bermuda this year will blow the last 3 years away.

Zoysia will also explode with growth soon but not as big as the bermuda..

I have mulched bermuda and if it is wet look out yoou will have clumps all over the lawn. I'm not talking about cutting in the rain, but with the humidity high you will still be cutting wet grass at 11:00 in the morning.

I would recommend a bagging system

4. Haley Lawn Care

Haley Lawn Care LawnSite Member
    from NC