Best 21" walk behind

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by john_incircuit, May 17, 2004.

1. john_incircuit

john_incircuit LawnSite Senior Member
    from NC

I'm pretty new in the business and need to get a high end 21" walk behind, for finish work and also for cutting tall grass on small yards. Many of the smaller yards I do have tons of bushes.

I have two questions:

-- Are walk behinds with swivel wheels really an advantages?

-- Our local dealer has a great offer on a Husqvarna 55R21VH. This one did pretty good in the latest consumer magazine test, but has only 5 1/2 hp. Or would the John Deere JS63 C or the Honda HRX be a better choice? Will use it for finish work, but also cut sometimes pretty tall stuff.

Thanks for your help ---John

2. grasswhacker

grasswhacker LawnSite Gold Member

I just purchased a Craftsman 21' with swivel wheels in front. It has a 6.5 hp Honda engine, bagger sits higher than previous models, the mulch to bag to side dc is easily changed, not very heavy. The only drawback is the front hieght adjustment, as you have to unscrew wingnuts to lower or raise the front wheels. Rear is a single adjustment. Mulches grass well and leaves a great cut when bagged.
    I am satisfied with it and it was only 399.00 on sale

3. BCSteel

BCSteel LawnSite Senior Member

I've been using JD JX75's for 6 years without a problem. The new one this year is lighter and stronger than the previous years. Has a bigger bag too.

4. straightlinelawns

straightlinelawns LawnSite Member