Best 36" walk behind? Please help

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Jason Creel, Nov 2, 2007.

1. Jason Creel

Jason Creel LawnSite Member

I'm new to the business and would like a 36" inch walk behind. I not concerned about the price, I simply want to know which is the best. I'm looking at Scag and Exmark but I'm open to suggestions. Thanks

2. All_Toro_4ME

All_Toro_4ME LawnSite Bronze Member

Scag and Exmark are top of the line. Take a close look at the dealers in your area, what brand they primarly sell and how their service is. Also, see if they will allow you to demo a unit to get a true feel of how it performs. Are parts ava, or do they have to order them? If they order, you have down time, you lose money. These are all factors that need to be considered. This is key and just as critical as what brand of WB to purchase.

3. whoopassonthebluegrass

whoopassonthebluegrass LawnSite Platinum Member

Do you know if you want a hydro or a belt-drive? A fixed or floating deck?

4. Jason Creel

Jason Creel LawnSite Member

I hear a hydro drive and floating deck are best but that comes second hand. I personally don't have any experience with walk behinds. I would appreciate all advice. Thanks

5. Siesta Key Lawn Service

Siesta Key Lawn Service LawnSite Member

Toro, Exmark, and Scag are all great machines. It comes down to which one you are most comforable with. Also the Quick 36 is getting good reviews.Good luck!

6. Frosty03

Frosty03 LawnSite Member

I will try to give you the in-depth answer you are looking for.

First, if you really are looking for the best, then go with a hydro drive. Hands-down it is the best way to go. No stopping to shift gears, no worrying about wet belts slipping, no having problems going backwards. No slipping while trying to pull you on a sulky or trying to go uphill either.

A hydro drive will pull you on a sulky, and go from wide-open, to stop, to reverse with just a simple squeeze of the drive handles.