Best Fertilizer for my zone!

Discussion in 'Fertilizer Application' started by topchoice, Jan 16, 2008.

1. topchoice

topchoice LawnSite Member

I am in the Middle TN area and have no experience in this field. Most of my clients use Scotts Lawn Care Program and I have talked with that agent before and all he recommends is the Scotts. I have been using Scotts on my personal property for about 3 years and am satisfied, but not estatic about the way it looks. Does anyone have a better experience with a different brand and what type of program do you use? I have Fescue blend grass. Thanks for all of your help.

2. Burkhart Lawn Care

Burkhart Lawn Care LawnSite Member

:waving:Hey topchoice, Im really close to here in Clarksville. What do you not like about your lawn now?

3. topchoice

The first issue I have is small patches of weeds that migrate from neighbors yards, for some reason the Scotts doesn't handle these real well. I haven't resorted to liquid spray because I am not familiar with the right brand and how to apply. I also get some fading in the coloration after awhile. It doesn't stay that constant dark green color- you can tell once the fertilizer disipates. The last thing is that the grass doesn't seem to be thickening up and becoming plush. I replaced my whole property with sod three years ago and would have thought by now that it would look "perfect". I am not kidding around when I say I work on my yard almost everyday from fall to spring, I am almost always doing something so I know I have taken care of it to the extreme. Maybe I am being too picky?!?

4. Marcos

Marcos LawnSite Gold Member

Weeds don't migrate.

With all due respect, weeds don't have feet or brains.

What weeds are good at, however, are being opportunistic! :cry:

If they appear to be "migrating" from other areas it is just your perception of a much different problem :