Best machine to use for leveling, pavers, stone

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by greatlawns, Jun 26, 2007.

1. greatlawns

greatlawns LawnSite Member
    from NJ

Hey guys, I'm fairly new to hardscaping, so I just wanted to get some opinions on the best equipment to use for clearing/leveling areas. I only want to get one machine and wanted to get input so I don't make a mistake. There's been times that I've bought equipment only to find that I could/should have gotten something different, had I had the experience to know better.

For this general purpose (plus the occasional big mulch job, re-grading a lawn, moving stone around, etc) would you recommend a skid steer or something like a compact Kubota front end loader to get the job done best? I am looking to get the most versatile all-around machine that has the most uses. Both have their pros and cons so I'm asking the experts.

What do you all think?

2. mrusk

mrusk LawnSite Gold Member

Get a skid steer and never look back. If you ever need to do alot of excavating for a wall or something, just sub it out.

3. kreft

kreft LawnSite Bronze Member

Skidsteer!!!!!!!!!tons Of Attachments To Get The Job Done!

4. waltero

waltero LawnSite Member

The problem with hardscaping is that all of the pallets are very heavy. If you get a machine it should be the largest one that you can afford. You will have to be able to excavate the area be it a patio, walkway, wall, or anything else. bring all the materials in and move the pallets around.