1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Best place to buy used WB

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by DaveRave07, Jul 10, 2005.

1. DaveRave07

DaveRave07 LawnSite Member
    from NY

I am new to this industry and have worked smaller properties as well as another job this year in order to save up to buy a used WB for next year. I am planning to be able to spend $1000-$1250 for a WB preferably 48" but possibly 36" or anywhere in between. My question is where should I go to find the best deal as I realize I am on limited funds. Would I be better of going to a dealer, which is appealing because of service and reliability, or looking to buy somewhere like eBay or in other places to maybe find something with a better price. What do you guys think, where (and also what time of year) should I go to find the best deal.

Also I figure that with the price range that I mentioned that I will be able to get myself a reliable enough machine to last me a few years until I can upgrade, let me know if you disagree.
  2. Bulletproof

Bulletproof LawnSite Member

We bought a WB over Ebay, just a beauty of a machine, and we got it for a fraction of its worth. It maybe had 5 hours on it, no scratches, no nothing.

I would suggest going for the 36" just because you can get it into more backyards than the 48", but that's just my opinion.

If you're not doing residential's as often, splurge for the 48."

Good luck.
  3. Bulletproof

Bulletproof LawnSite Member

great pic of Page!
  4. Scapegoat

Scapegoat LawnSite Member

Ebay. My dealers don't fool with W/B much, so Ebay offered a better selection.
  5. newbomb

newbomb LawnSite Senior Member