Best way to remove 'weeds' from lawn

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by recycledsole, Sep 28, 2012.

1. recycledsole

recycledsole LawnSite Gold Member
    from MD

Hello
    i am totally new to this and appreciate any knowledge and advice you will share.
    my client has a lawn that has some weeds growing in with the grass, like violets, creeping charlie, etc... i know i could get in there manually pull them up, could i rake them? also, i could use an herbicide, but how do i apply that without killing the grass theyred mixed in with?

thanks!

2. ReddensLawnCare

ReddensLawnCare LawnSite Bronze Member

Prepare yourself to be grilled. If you're posting a question like that it is clear you do not have a license. Members on this forum do not appreciate people spraying without a license. You need to contact a local company and sub out. By the way selective herbicides do not kill desired Turf if used appropriately
    Posted via Mobile Device

3. lazor-cut

lazor-cut LawnSite Senior Member
    from Wixom

Yeah find a good sub. And charge appropriately. If you get caught spraying anything like that commercially (for money/ on property that is not yours) you could be subject to big fines.

Without seeing the lawn I have no idea exactly what to suggest... Most of my lawns I only have to spot spray... Give your local John Deere landscape supply a call and they will try to find something that might work for you.

4. recycledsole

from MD

thanks, herbicide is the last way i want to go. if i hand pull what i can and plant nice grass there woudlnt it out compete the weeds?
    thanks

5. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic