Best way to secure customers?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Daves Propert Maintenance, Nov 29, 2006.

1. Daves Propert Maintenance

Daves Propert Maintenance LawnSite Member
    from USA

As the fall season is coming to a close, I feel that it is time to get some new customers for next spring. I am planning on going door to door in my target neighborhoods and talking face to face with potential customers. I will be dressed nicely in a business attire, with flyers that include contact and service information. I feel that if I can get through the door, then there is a good chance that I can get the customer's attention.

What suggestions do the pros have?
    Keep in mind that I am a college student with a long holiday break coming up with time to kill, not necessarily cash though.

What works best for you?

2. justanotherlawnguy

justanotherlawnguy LawnSite Bronze Member

Do a search!!!!!!!!!!Every other post on here is about how to get more customers.

3. fiveoboy01

fiveoboy01 LawnSite Silver Member

If it's me, I don't like being bothered at home by door to door salesmen.

I won't even answer the door unless it's a friend of mine, or the UPS/FedEx/US Postal service guy(or in the rare instance of a police officer lol).

But some seem to make door to door work. Just be polite, introduce yourself, explain what you do, and let the customer know that you're ready to provide any service they may need. Smile. Try to be quick and to the point so that you don't kill their attention span. And if they tell you to get lost, offer to leave a card/flyer in case they need anything, and thank them for their time.

4. Landscape Precision Inc.

Landscape Precision Inc. LawnSite Member

I agree with Fiveboy01.. I have a newborn and when the doorbell rings, the last thing I want to hear is a sales pitch.