Best Wide Area Mower ??...In you

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Andyinchville, Feb 4, 2004.

1. Andyinchville

Andyinchville LawnSite Senior Member

Hi,

I'm looking at doing several large properties this year (40+ acres each)....
    They are relativelly level and pretty much wide open. What would you consider to be the best wide area mower and why?
    I'd prefer to stay away from tractor drawn
    mowers..Thanks for your opinions.

2. Doster's L & L

Doster's L & L LawnSite Senior Member

What is the reason that you don't want a tractor drawn machine?
    I have no personal experience myself with one of these, but another guy from my area has a Kubota enclosed cab w/ a 16' Woods batwing. His commercial properties usually look pretty nice.

3. Andyinchville

Andyinchville LawnSite Senior Member

Tractor drawn has the advantage of being more versatile (you can detatch the tractor from the mower and use the tractor for other tractor related tasks) BUT
    I think the disadvantages for a mobile operator (i.e. - having to service a number of different properties) in my situation would be basically weight and size.....
    A tractor in the 80 HP range would weigh a bunch....then you'd have to add the weight of the mowers too....I think the total would be more than my 1 ton wouod care to pulll......Also, I suppose the length of this combo would force me to buy and even bigger trailer....I have looked at a Toro 580 D (80 HP , 16 foot cut, approx 6500 lbs) With this there will still be enough room on my trailer to have a Ferris 3000 or 48" walkbehind (or I could take both...
    Walk behind in the bed of the truck
    3000 on the trailer).
    Finally, at least for me , I think looking backwards to see the mowing decks would be harder than having a large out front deck and some side wings.....
    I suppose w/ practice the pull behind could be OK tho.......Thanks for your idea tho'.....I have thought also thougt