Best Zero Turn Tractor???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by emagma, May 24, 2004.

1. emagma

emagma LawnSite Member
    from Iowa

I have 4 acres that has ditches and some hills (not real steep). I am looking for a good zero turn that is easy to use and doesn't cost an arm and a leg. I am a female that does most of the mowing. My husband would like to get a commercial grade zero turn. We have been looking at Toro Z Masters and Cub Cadet Tanks. But then looking at Consumer Reports, they are not all that great. Any suggestions out there?? Right now we are using a smaller Craftsman lawn tractor, not real good in the ditches and I am afraid of tipping over.
  2. emagma

emagma LawnSite Member
    from Iowa

I also need something I can put a snow blade on......
  3. broken leg

broken leg LawnSite Senior Member

I have never seen consumer reports on commercial equipment. I have a walker and you can put a blade on them but the walker is a bit priceeee. I have a toro z master and it holds up real well with out any problems. I do not know if there is a snowblade out there for a regular Z but you sound like a home owner and a toro z will last you many years. I would buy a mid priced Z and a old tractor with a frontblade for snow. Remember get as much horse power as you can afford it always comes in handy. Do not buy a 18hp with a 44 in deck. If you ever get in high grass one time you will wish you had the horse power. Look my opinion and a dollar might get you a cup of coffee and you will still have to pay the tax.
  4. P&C Lawn Care

P&C Lawn Care LawnSite Senior Member

A front mount Grasshopper will take a snowplow but not sure how well it will do on your ditches.
  5. chuckers

chuckers LawnSite Senior Member

i have a front mount grasshopper and it sticks to some hills and i cut some crazy ditches its all about what you know you can do and what you cant? i love my grasshopper for snow we have the blade and the thrower
  6. mowhigh

mowhigh LawnSite Member