1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

best ztr's for slopes

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by woodchuckc, Apr 13, 2005.

1. woodchuckc

woodchuckc LawnSite Member

I'm not a pro, but sometimes it seems like mowing is my second job! :dizzy: I mow about 3.5 acres of my own yard, about 2 acres for my mother-in-law who lives next door, and about another 3 acres for my grandmother-in-law who lives next door to her. I have been using a 60" cut Kubota G2160 diesel lawn tractor for the last 2 years, and have put about 375 hours on it. I am considering going to a ztr to try and cut down on the amount of time I spend cutting grass. We have a lot of trees and flower beds in all the yards, so I can't help but think that a ztr will also help me cut down on the amount of trimming that I need to do as well.

All three yards, and especially mine, have a lot of sloped areas that I can cut with the lawn tractor, but it requires paying pretty close attention to angles of approach, etc. to feel comfortable even on it. So, are there any particular brands and models of ztr's that do especially well on slopes? What about tires - would a bar-style tire on the drive wheels be better than the stock turf tires (some areas do stay pretty wet, too). I was figuring that some of the tall models, like Dixie Chopper and Exmark would not be so good, and ones with a lower center of gravity would be better. My Kubota dealer also carries Hustler, and I have a Cub Cadet dealer nearby as well, so I thought I would check out these two brands. I don't want a homeowner model, but would like to keep my cost under $7000.

Any suggestions / comments would be most appreciated!

Thanks! :waving:
  2. br549oicu8

br549oicu8 LawnSite Bronze Member