Besy Fungicide for Curative of Pythium Blight?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Whitey4, Jun 27, 2008.

1. Whitey4

Whitey4 LawnSite Silver Member

Already identified, and told home owner about afternoon watering, but I've gotten dome contradicting info on what fungicide would be best. Heritage? Signature? Bayer Armada? I've seen each of these listed as preventaives, and with varying curative performance reports. Wading throuh all the info has left me confused and with no clear idea of which control is best as a curative.

As a side note.... I had some trouble deciding if this was Summer patch or brown patch at first, or pythium blight.... this is my first year in the pesticide biz.... and still plenty to learn. Is there a good tank mix for a shotgun fungicide app? I've read Bayelton and Signiture are labeled for a tank mix.... anyone try this? Effectiveness for a "kill all" fungicide approach?

Any feedback MOST appreciated!
  2. TPendagast

TPendagast LawnSite Fanatic

the problem with fungicide is PRICE.
    IT takes three times as much app to CURE as prevent AND an application to prevent is crazy expensive.
    They key term here is economic threshold.

How much area is infested?

Also where is the Pythium, and what caused it. It's pointless to cure and not solve the cause.

Pythium can be ferted out with heavy nitrogen cut cosntantly (twice per week) and then simply resod the damaged dead area.

Alot depends on the SIZE of the affected area.

If I was going to treat Id use bayleton
  3. Az Gardener

Az Gardener LawnSite Gold Member

Subue as a preventative, Banrot as a contact killer.
  4. greendoctor

greendoctor LawnSite Fanatic