Bidding complete lawn care jobs

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Todd Shumaker, Aug 14, 2005.

1. Todd Shumaker

Todd Shumaker LawnSite Member

I work as a full time fire fighter in Williamsburg Virginia and have a part time business doing lawn care. My goal is to pick up about 8-10 customers but to do all the work. aerating, overseeding, liming etc.

What I want to know is does anybody have set prices for doing work? I want to make sure i'm not charging too much or not enough.

I know how to charge for my mowing, no problems there.

Looking for some advice!!

2. MrFangs

MrFangs LawnSite Member
    from Zone 8

I assume you have all the permits and licenses for this type of work.

3. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

Ok you need a FORMULA for doing it and by this I mean you need to know how many bags of lime + fert + seed, etc - What works for me may or may not work for you, but I will give you my formula and you can work with that, then develop it to suit your needs over time.
    Everybody has their own formula and it's kind of like cooking, some people use more of one thing, others use more of the other and you will need to figure out what works for you. As for me, I like using more seed than anything else because thou the seed is the most expensive, the difference in labor for spreading LESS of the heavy stuff makes up for it and the results work great for me, so:

Here's your guide for aeration price = grass-cutting + $10 for smaller yards, grass-cutting + $15 for larger (all these under an acre, once you get to an acre lot it's +20 and so on).

For lime + fert, here's what I do: