bidding landscape jobs

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by captjgann, Oct 14, 2007.

1. captjgann

captjgann LawnSite Member

started bidding commercial work. find that I am usually low bidder. So I started adding up all my job costs: plants, dirt, labor, mulch, insurance, truck , trailer, loader, edt. Once I have my cost I multiply by 2, sometimes this is my bid and sometimes I add a profit margin. what do you suggest for competative bidding?
    thanks, jeff

2. TarheelTLC

TarheelTLC LawnSite Member

I am just getting started in the business but are using the same rates as you. Based on what I am reading we are way low. I just did a job with about $600 in materials and quoted $1188.00. The lady gave me $1300.00 and is talking about an irrigation system and more beds. It took about 16 hours and I am a one man show. With every job I am going up on price based on experience and realizing I am under estimating time.
    Dean

3. Lawnut101

Lawnut101 LawnSite Silver Member

I just did some figuring, and your only charging around 40/hr. If I were you, I would raise my hourly rate to 60-70/hr or so. I'm new to this also, but that would definitely help you out a bunch.

4. loom-gen

loom-gen LawnSite Member

When bidding jobs on a "by the hour" basis keep in mind how fast other companies can do the job. they may have superior equipment and may know all the short cuts. When starting out, bidding low is ok as long as you make something and still build a clientel. Don't be greedy; at least not yet.

5. capetan

capetan LawnSite Member