Bidding on big businesses

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Turf Tiger, Jul 19, 2008.

1. Turf Tiger

Turf Tiger LawnSite Member

I have been residental mowing for the past 2 years and ready to step up to commercial mowing. I am new to the bidding process so I am looking for tips. I mean how do you guys come up with the figures. Do you look at it and try to set yourself up for a certain amount an hour. Or do you measure and add it up by acres. I mean I know you have to add in gas costs and other factors. If someone could please tell me how they much they charge and how they add it all up it would really help me. Any other advice on how to outbid people or any other tips on getting these big jobs would help.

2. Turf Tiger

For some reason all of my posts are showing up and disappearing. I hope someone will help me and answer my questions

3. Two Seasons

Two Seasons LawnSite Senior Member

Refresh your screen after you post!

Regarding your questions, you could start by using google and plot the acreage that you would bid on.

The first thing I do is get to know who is in charge of these services for the corporation you want to do business with. That, in my opinion, is the first step! Until you develop a relationship with the "outsourced maintenance contact" at their business, all you will probably do is spend money and lose sleep and still not be any further ahead.

4. jaybow

jaybow LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Mi