1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Bidding on grocery chains

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by cajunboy, Jan 30, 2005.

1. cajunboy

cajunboy LawnSite Member

I now have two contracts for a grocery chain. They are going to one company for all of there stores in the area. It would be five store locally and 4 or 5 stores 1 hour away and 1 of the 5 is 1.5hours away. This is my second year in the business and I am a solo operator. If I get the jobs I will hire one person. Here is the question. Is it worth bidding on this contract having to drive this far to service an account. I would hate to drive an hour away and when I get there its raining. that would suck. They would be cut once a week and twice a month during the winter. The thing I am struggling with is I live in an area where they are building hundreds of houses within miles of my house and I bought 5000 door hangers and was ready to go full force this year in residental. I am afaid if I take on 9 grocery stores it would limit me doing these residentals. The other thing I forgot to mention is I used to be a manager for this grocery chain for 11 years and I quick last year. I am good friends with the guy who is accepting the bids and making the decision. So they are pretty much mine if I want them. Any advise would be appreciated
  2. beransfixitinc

beransfixitinc LawnSite Senior Member