1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Bidding on mowing

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Glenn55, Feb 12, 2003.

1. Glenn55

Glenn55 LawnSite Member

Hi Everyone,
    I need your help. I am a small contractor in Maine and want to place a mowing bid for a town proposal. I am bidding agaist the biggest contractor in the area. One of his contracts is one million dollars a year to mow lawns and plow their snow.
    Do any of you use a , "cost per square foot to bid"? I would have to buy a big tractor if i win the bid but i'm not sure how to bid on something this big. They are baseball fields, parks etc but large areas.
    I think the best way is to ask you what you'd bid on a 50,000 sq ft open lawn just for an example then i can go from there.
    I can't wait for green grass. It's 10 below this morning in Maine.
    Thanks for your help.
    Glenn L. Reed
    I would ask you to send me an email to this address because i just signed up on this site and just learning how to use it.
    Thank you
  2. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

I dont know the vast extent of the parks you mention but a 52 Lazer Z can produce 2/acres per hour production times.

My guess will be that they will ask for an insurance list of your arsenal and you wont meet the "needs" they feel are necessary for such a large project.

If you have never bid anything of this size before, I suggest that you try some larger (1-3 acre) commercial sites first, get a feel for how much and how long it takes you to trim the walks and bed edges, blow off veh and ped pavements, cut an acre of grass when its wet/dry/morning/noon/spring/summer etc. etc. etc.
  3. Sean Adams

Sean Adams LawnSite Gold Member