1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Bidding River Gravel Installation?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Braxton, Mar 6, 2005.

1. Braxton

Braxton LawnSite Member
    from TN

This is my first year in the business, and I bid and received one job for a landscape renovation. I underbid it quite a bit, but I will come out OK, just not as much per hour as I had thought.

I have another bid I need to make ASAP, and I need some help on it. The customer wants river gravel installed in her beds. She has gravel down with landscaping fabric under it, and quite a bit of fabric is showing. She wants to add about 1" of additional gravel as well as have me do some other things.

The bed measurements are as follows:

Bed One: 20'X26'

Bed Two: 4'8"X26

Bed Three: 4'X17'

Bed Four: 4.5'X3'

How would you bid each of these? What markup on material and what cost on labor? How long will this take, and should the gravel company deliver? Finally, does anyone know where to get this in the Murfreesboro, TN area?

On the other parts of the job, she wants me to hand-weed the above beds, remove 3 barberries, cut down three small trees, pull out one juniper, cut down one overgrown boxwood, cut down one additional small tree, and trim three shrubs.

How should I figure the bidding on this?

Thanks much.

2. o-so-n-so

o-so-n-so LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Alabama

I'll try to help you out.