bidding work on property you already service..

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by fga, Apr 23, 2005.

1. fga

fga LawnSite Silver Member

i have been cutting this house for 4 years now. $25 a cut, every other week. we do everything, clean ups, fertilizer applications, thatching, trimming... etc.

we did sod last year, in the beginning of the year. at the time they said they wanted to to do alot of planting in the back, weeping cherries, arbs., etc

a month ago, they asked me to design a layout, prices etc,
    i was going over some of my ideas with them, which they liked, then she goes on to tell me, the she thinks she should let me know that she is getting other prices from other landscapers for this very job, and got some already...
    does that go against proper ettiquette or is it just me? i sat with it for a day or 2 and told her to give it to the other guys.
    i found it insulting, and debating making a call to just cancel the service altogether. am i over reacting, or would you bid on work at property you are maintaining at the moment.
    picture showing up to cut the grass, and there's some company making a nice little bundle that you should have been entitled to.

i'm going to be more pissed if its my design i see back there..
  2. DennisF

DennisF LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Florida

What's wrong with a customer getting more than one estimate? I always get at least 3 estimates when I hire someone for work on my property.
  3. Eddie B

Eddie B LawnSite Senior Member
    from gone

Why would she go to someone else before going to you? As far as your design layout goes, I would've told her not to share it. If she hands it to another LCO and they look at it, they'll figure that the design work is already done for them, which means less work, so they'll factor in a lower price. To answer your question, I wouldn't drop the mowing over it unless you show up one day and someone stole your design layout.[​IMG]
  4. fga

fga LawnSite Silver Member