Big Companies In Your Area.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by DSLND, Aug 2, 2007.

1. DSLND

DSLND LawnSite Bronze Member

Well, it seems the more i talk to people, the more i come to find out that they are unsatisfied with the bigger companies in my area (Central IL.). Now this doesnt just apply for landscaping/lawn maintenance, though that has been a major one. I was just talking to my neighbor who had a company pour concrete/blacktop and they said "they would cheat him out" being, "not putting their words into action". I have talked to several of my customers, friends, and family about this and they hate using the bigger companies because either A: They are outrageously priced, B: They cheat people, and or do very poor work, or both A and B.

As of right now, i am a solo operator (14 years old) doing around twenty yards per week, and hoping to expand greatly once i get my truck and license (Feb. 09). There are about three good sized landscaping companies around me that i have notice their work.

Company A: Does maintenance next to one of my properties, they scalp, rush, and leave a mess in the street.

Company B: Same results of company A, no image. They always have no shirt on, and are always wearing unsafe foot wear. Image is everything in my company, jeans/shorts, company t-shirt/hoodie, hat, sunglasses, hearing protection, boots, etc.

Company C: Only landscaping installs. They do great work, and i would like to work for them during the summers of my high school career. Every person i talk to, says their outrageously expensive, but do quality work.