Big job question?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by BobbyKnight, Sep 1, 2004.

1. BobbyKnight

BobbyKnight LawnSite Member

At this point I don't have many accounts (10). Mowing is not my full-time job, but I love to do it. My full-time job is teaching. A lady I teach with has approximately 7 acres she cuts between her home and her mom's house. She says she is sick of it, but I don't know how much she is willing to pay. It is mostly open ground with some trees and trimming around the homes. She won't be picky, or in other words, it doesn't have to be perfect. She just wants to make sure the grass is cut on a weekly basis. I don't want to blow her away with a price, but I would like to get the job and make some decent money from her. I think once she sees what I can do she would be pleased. But, like I said, I'm fairly new to this. I have only bid small jobs; nothing this big. Give me some help.

2. lawnmowingboys

lawnmowingboys LawnSite Member

You should be able to mow 3 acres an hour with your JD 54" 23 HP Kaw. That's a little over 2 hours rider time. Figure total of 3 hours if you trim. A low rate, $20/hour = $60 per week.

3. Leone LawnCare

Leone LawnCare LawnSite Member

holy crap stop giving advice man 60 dollars is way low. It should be around 250 to 300 dollars if there is alot of triimming involved. I cut a 2 acre property for 110.

4. mcclureandson

mcclureandson LawnSite Member

Amen!! I've got half a dozen good-sized lawns...$110 for 2 acres/$85 for 1.5 acres/$75 for 1.5 acres etc... It's all relative, but if it's wide open like you say I would start at $200 at a minimum. Anything but the roughest of cuts would be more (and are you sure you want to put your signature on 7 acres of poorly serviced lawn?) Charge for and provide a quality service! I've turned down jobs because they 'don't care how it looks' or just want it mowed w/no trimming or edging etc...Word of mouth can work against you, too!

5. PLM-1

PLM-1 LawnSite Bronze Member