1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Kends, Mar 22, 2001.

1. Kends

Kends LawnSite Member

I have an opportunity to bid on a Big K. I'm a one man show for now. Do any of you do K's? They have a standard contract, you just fill in the blanks.

Also, it's an overall maintenance contract. They don't want any fertilizer or weed control. They just ask to pull the weeds as necessary, or spot spray. Keep up the grass and trimming.

A couple of problems. This is my first year full time at this. (I don't want to be too desperate). It's about a 35 min. drive from the shop. The total sq. ft. for grass is 57,000. I know last year they paid $630.00 per month. That's just to keep up the lawn, and pulling the weeds in the islands that don't have grass. Anything else you do is an extra and has to be agreed upon b/4 the work is done. (mulch, fert., and repair). I have to be insured and bonded for 1 or 2 million (I need to have the insurance guy take a look at that part of it..I don't understand the wording). I have a meeting with the ins. guy to give me prices on that. No idea$$.

Basically looking for input. I think I can do it for (w/profit) for $570.00/month. I'll bid it at the $630.00 and will probably get it...my neighbor runs the Big K.

what do ya think?

2. Kends

Kends LawnSite Member

Every other time I've posted a question here for help I've either been slammed or have gotten help within the first 10 minutes.....NOTHING????

Come on guys, is it that dumb of a question????
  3. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

Are we talking like the super kmarts?

Do you need to bid less than the last guy to get the job? Is he still involved in the bidding process?
  4. Kends

Kends LawnSite Member