Big lawns vs small lawns

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by bigw, Apr 16, 2008.

?

big lawns vs small lawns

Poll closed Apr 19, 2008.
  1. big

33.9%
  2. small

66.1%
  1. bigw

bigw LawnSite Bronze Member

I know im no expert { yet } but so far i prefer bigger lawns then the smaller one's. I love using the ztr way more the the 36'' and i enjoy just the comfort and less laboring big lawns. To me id rather sit on the ztr for 2 hrs then have to load and unload every 20 mins. I hate all the opsticals in the smaller lawns. Anyway maybe ill change my mind but as of right now give me the big lawns.

2. stevenf

stevenf LawnSite Bronze Member

I like my smaller lawns WAY better then my bigger ones. Of course I have a 44" homeowner ztr so you have to keep that in mind. I could take out four $30.00 lawns that are close together in the time I take out one $60.00 lawn. To me, The smaller lawns are wat more profitable.

3. dcgreenspro

dcgreenspro LawnSite Senior Member
    from PA

I agree. I use my 48in metro on 5 close properties that don't take me an hour and net more doing them then I do my large ones not to mention the time factor.

4. bill8379

bill8379 LawnSite Senior Member

A small z like a gravely 34z might be the ticket. I seen your other comment about the Quick 36, when I bought my Toro 36 wb I thought I could get it into a truck bed when I realized I needed a trailer, and HAD to buy one, I wished I had bought a rider instead of a wb.

I like large yards too but almost all of mine are small to medium sized. The neighbourhoods where I get customers for lawns, I've been working in, doing Windows, for years. I'm not even sure how to JUST GET large lawns.

5. cgaengineer

cgaengineer LawnSite Fanatic