Big man on a ZTR

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by sheppard, Sep 3, 2001.

1. sheppard

sheppard LawnSite Senior Member

Ran a search for this but did not come up with anything. I will buy a ZTR with in 2/3 months. I'm 6'4" and 200 lbs. Is there any sitting (or standing) ZTR anyone would recommend I stay away from? Don't want to lean over on a standing system nor do I want to bang my knee into hard steel on a sitting one. Here are some of the one's I've struck down- JD 655, Exmark (dealership has bad reputation), Great Dane. I'm iffy on a Walker- the dealership here is not set up to do serious maintenence on the systems (I'm still a novice on things mechanical). Any positive recommendations would be appreciated as well. Tell me what works if you are my size or near.

Cordially,
    Sheppard

2. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

You my friend will find that for you a Z rider is the best option. The stand up riders such as Great Dane/Wright are basically for 6ft and shorter.

Im 6-1 and have a little bit of discomfort after standing there hunched for long periods of time.

I have a friend whos a cutter here locally and hes 6-6 and loves the eXmark Zs. I think that you will find your best comfort fronm them and others that are comparable.

Kris

3. smburgess

smburgess LawnSite Senior Member

What are your cutting requirements? Do you need to bag the clippings? Small footprint or the bigger the better?

4. sheppard

sheppard LawnSite Senior Member

Presently I'm heavy on commercial but have 3 large commercial accounts. Do not need to bag, 30% of my accounts have flat grass areas. The rest have rolling hills. Half my accounts have fenced backyards. Must have the flexability of easy deck changes. Tallahassee is heavy on leaves in the fall. 30 % of accounts have St. Augustine, the rest have mix of centapede & burmuda.

Cordially,
    Sheppard

5. Randy Scott

Randy Scott LawnSite Bronze Member