Big name (Exmark,Scag, Toro,etc) 48" belt drive or Lesco 48 hydro?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by KBW, Feb 23, 2003.

1. KBW

KBW LawnSite Member

I have been shopping for a 48" belt drive from Exmark, Gravely, Toro, etc. I never really considered a Hydro mostly due to budget reasons, however, I am reconsidering after seeing the price on Lesco's 48" hydro ($3,399 w/17 hp Kawi). The 48" hydros from the other brands above are definately out of my price range. I could swing the Lesco hydro though. I am new to the biz w/ aprox. 13 lawns (3/4 -1.5 acre lots). Should I spend a liitle more and get Lesco's hydro or do I get a belt drive from one of the more name brand companies? Thanks....Kevin

2. J&R

J&R LawnSite Senior Member

With that size of yards you need a ZTR. Has you said you have to start some were. The lesco would be a good start.

3. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

Others here will argue with me until they're blue in the face over the Lesco mowers but I'm a firm believer in the old saying:

"You get what you pay for"

4. lbmd1

lbmd1 LawnSite Senior Member

Kevin,
    Belt drives work just fine. Toro 's belt drive fixed deck 48" with the T-Bar should run you about $2500. It's a great machine and name brand behind it for the price. There's a guy in Orchard Park, NY (Buffalo area) that was selling them for $2350 in the crate unassembled. I think the dealer's name is Saville Outdoor Power Equipment. Shipping should be around $150. By the time you will want a hydro, you'll probably make the jump to a z rider anyway.

Mike

5. Turf Technologies

Turf Technologies LawnSite Senior Member
    from Florida

"You get what you pay for"

That means your gonna get a great machine in Lesco. We have three a 5yr old 48inch 17 kaw hydro and 2 yr old Viper 48 and a 5 month old 52inch 19 hp. Parts are cheap and easy to repair. You cant go wrong thats for sure.

6. TJLC

TJLC LawnSite Bronze Member