BIG QUESTION!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by RyanCanMow, Apr 23, 2001.

1. RyanCanMow

RyanCanMow LawnSite Member

Guys, I have reached a "fork in the road" so to speak. I live in central Mississippi and am finishing my sophomore year of college. I currently own and operate a lawn service that services around 45-50 regular residential accounts, and 1 commercial. My brother is my partner, and only worker for now. I am driving home every weekend from college to mow,about two hours. Right now I am majoring in construction management. I have invested around 12K in equipment so far, and I don't know what to do as far as expanding. I AM CONFUSED!! I plan to finish school, and get my degree, for sure. I just don't know if I should expand, like purchasing more equipment and trying to find some good help, and increasing services we offer. Let me know what you guys think. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE to mow grass!! I could see myself doing this for the rest of my life, but I need some advice. I am planning on purchasing another Lazer, and consequently will have to upgrade to a larger trailer. The 16' is too small, to carry all we need. I am thinking about a 20' gooseneck with sides, is this a good idea or not? I also need to use some kind of scheduling software that has the capability to grow as the business hopefully grows. Any suggestion? I have read a lot of old posts, but I just can't make my mind up on which one. Naturally, I would prefer the cheapest, but I want some kind of system that crew members can use for their routes and daily checklists for the clients.(If I ever am able to hire a crew). I am just in a position where I don't know what to do. If you guys could let me know what you think, I would GREATLY appreciate it!
    Thanks a lot, sorry so lengthy, lots of things on my mind!

RyanCanMow

2. dmk395

dmk395 LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Ma