Billing and collection question

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by newbomb, Aug 1, 2005.

1. newbomb

newbomb LawnSite Senior Member

As a part timer I would collect from customers who were home when I did the work and collect from others every couple weeks. This was fine when I had a job and only 20 or so lawns. Now I have 70+ lawns and other projects and depend on the money as income. Now I spend too much time trying to collect.

I am toying with once per month billing as I am sure many here do. My question is, Is it adviseable to bill in advance or at the end of a 4 week cycle. My idea is that if I can bill in advance I will eliminate dead beat customers and eliminate running around. If the check arrives on time I keep mowing. I have good references to prove my reliability. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

2. Redneckn

Redneckn LawnSite Senior Member

I think it sounds like a great idea. As a mechanic, I don't know how well it will work. I do know this. When I was working for an automatic gate company, we did the once a month thing and it worked out great. the only things we did billing after the fact was for repairs. it if was maint., then most of them ended up paying before we ever came out.
    Once burnt, we didnt do anything without a huge deposit.
  3. Thirdpete

Thirdpete LawnSite Member
    from Chicago

I send out bills every 1st of the month, and they are due on the 30th. If all works out right, then you don't have to wait very long after the final cut for the month's payment.
  4. lawnguyland

lawnguyland LawnSite Bronze Member