Billing by the Month?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Jarrells74, Apr 19, 2003.

1. Jarrells74

Jarrells74 LawnSite Member

Hi all.. This is my first year in the Buisness, and all my customers pay me by the job right now. One customer asked me if I could set him up on a monthy payment plan. I am wondering how you all bill by the month? I mean, do you just charge them for 4 weeks at a time, or do you have the payment do at the first of the month? Seems if you did that, you would be doing a free mowing every few months because of 30 or 31 days in a month. I need to give him a figure on Monday. Thx for any help..

2. bastalker

bastalker LawnSite Senior Member

May has 31 days in it. so if you cut 4 times, bill for 4 cuts due on the 15th of June. June has 30 days in it, so if you cut 3 times, bill for three cuts, due on the 15th of July. July has 31 days in it, so if you cut 3 times, bill for 3 cuts due the 15th of Aug....etc....:)

3. ahah

ahah LawnSite Member
    from 5

In my area there are generally 30 cuts per season. I have customers under contract. First bills are due March 15 th., the last is due December 15 th. Mowing starts the second week of April and ends the last week of October.

30 cuts at 30 bucks per cut= 900 bucks

900 bucks divided by 10 months of payments is 90 bucks per month.

In the contract it stipulates that any additonal mowing over thirty cuts will be billed at 30 (or whatever the original mowing price was) bucks per instance.

4. Turfdude

Turfdude LawnSite Bronze Member

We bill at the end of each month for that month's work. We do not have an equal pay plan. We have contracts for all of our services. We take deposits for larger mulch jobs (over 12 yds) and for landscape intalls only. We do not offer pre-pay discounts. Hope this helps.

5. sgallaher

sgallaher LawnSite Senior Member