Billing Customers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Meier, Mar 18, 2003.

1. Meier

Meier LawnSite Senior Member
    from DFW

OK. I'm just starting out and I'm trying to figure out how to bill my customers. My target customer is residential with a lawn size anywhere from as little as 1,500 square feet to 15,000 square feet. My original plan was to get a deposit of about three mowings, or around $100 on average. After the customer had paid me for 6 months on time every month, I'd give them back the deposit.

My friend, who hires his lawn done, advised against this. He said there were just too many people that would do it without a deposit. Then again, he's using some guy with lawn mowers in the back of a pick up truck and he pays way too little, in my opinion, to get his large lawn done. He's probably got about 10-12,000 square feet and his guy mows it for $30. The guy also spreads fertilizer for free if my friend buys the fertilizer.

Then again, if the customer is serious about paying me, a deposit shouldn't represent a problem.

So far, I've only signed up 3 customers for mowing and I haven't gotten a deposit on any of them. I use Quick Books and I send them a statement once a month after I've already done the work. So far, so good...I've collected 100%.

But logic tells me it's not a matter of if I get's when, and how often.

The other thought was to get set up to accept credit cards. I thought about telling new customers that the only way I bill is via credit card, just like your ISP. You give me your credit card number, I come out and do the work. At the end of the month, I charge the credit card and send you a statement indicating the work done and the charge made to the card. Very simple. In order to accept credit cards, I'll have to lose 2.1% of all revenues, but something tells me that would be cheap insurance against uncollectible accounts.