Billygoat High Weed Mower

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Pecker, Feb 19, 2006.

1. Pecker

Pecker LawnSite Bronze Member

I'm considering buying one this Spring and have a few questions.
    http://www.billygoat.com/site/intro.aspx?pid=19

- Anyone have one and how do you like it?
    - Can you put a mulch kit on it for finish mowing? Also, is the bagger easy to use/empty?
    - Price?

Thanks.

2. Jason Rose

Jason Rose LawnSite Fanatic

I thought maybe you were looking at the brushcutter... I am going to be renting one this spring to cut down some "wild" areas at a couple houses.

I can't comment about either really since I have no experience, but IMO the 24" mower looks pretty hokey to me. That grass catcher is almost Identical to the catcher I had on my Dynamark 22" push mower I had when I was 13.
    Just to guess I'd say the price will be in the $1,200 range. I'd look closer at the Exmark 26" (if it has all the improvements) if I was needing something that size.

3. Pecker

I'll check out the Exmark. I'm interested in your review when you rent the Billygoat. I'm wanting to replace my Toro Proline 32" gear wb simply because I just don't use it much at all but I still need something I can get in backyards with (many of which have thick fast-growing St. Augustine for some reason. A push-style mower would be easier to maneuver in the tight backyards I use my wb on.

I'm fixin' to check out that Exmark!

4. Pecker

The Exmark Metro 26 looks like a nice machine, but I could never buy a mower that can only bag (which I despise). Correct me if I'm wrong, but the Exmark looks to be a bag-only mower.

What attracts me to the Billygoat is the "high weed" capability with finish-cut capabilities as well.

Basically, the perfect mower for my needs would be a high-torque mower for thick and tall grass/weeds that is very productive/fast, with the ability to chute, bag, or mulch. . .

Does Billygoat have any competitors to the high-weed mower?

5. M RASCOE&SONS